Meet the 2023 Recreation Award Nominees

We are excited to announce the nominees for the 2023 Recreation Awards! The awards celebrate the best and brightest of Aotearoa's recreation industry, recognising excellence, innovation, and effectiveness of outstanding activity within the recreation sector.

We had many great nominations come through this year and the judges have been busy working through them to uncover the winners!

Outstanding Project

  • An Inner-City Green Space (Rau Paenga & Citycare Property) 
  • Wānaka Recreation Centre Community Playspace (Queenstown Lakes District Council) 
  • Te Pae Whīra o Pā Harakeke, Flaxmere Skate Park (Hastings District Council) 
  • Joint Agency Work Plan for Department of Corrections (Invercargill City Council) 
  • Korikori Village Hub and Park Developments (Hamilton City Council) 
  • Luggate Memorial Centre (Queenstown Lakes District Councl) 
  • Ngā ara Tipuna ki Tamatea - Storytelling Trail (Tamatea Hapū and Central Hawke’s Bay District Council) 
  • Nigel Mahan Pumptrack - Bexley Reserve (North Avon Christchurch BMX Club Inc. & Christchurch City Council) 
  • Recloaking Mauao - Mauao Historical Reserve (Tauranga City Council)
  • Redevelopment of Dawson School Through the Kaitiaki Curriculum (Dawson Primary School, AUT & CLM Community Sport) 
  • Te Mataapuna (Taupō District Council & Ngāti Tūrangitukua) 
  • Whānau Ātea at Te Pane o Mataoho (Boffa Miskell Limited & Tūpuna Maunga o Tāmaki Makaurau Authority)

Outstanding Event

  • Big Splash 2023 (Porirua City Council) 
  • iAM Games (Inclusive Activity Murihiku & Active Southland) 
  • Play Festival (Playfully)

Outstanding Pool

  • Arena Aquatics Porirua (Porirua City Council) 
  • Te Puna Kaukau ō Keith Spry / Keith Spry Pool (Wellington City Council)
  • Ōtahuhu Pool & Leisure Centre - (CLM) 
  • Splash Palace (Invercargill City Council)

Outstanding Park

  • Flaxmere Park (Hastings District Council) 
  • Foster Park (Selwyn District Council) 
  • Korikori Park (Hamilton City Council) 
  • Russell Square Playground (Invercargill City Council)

Outstanding Recreation Facility

  • Pūtangitangi Greenmeadows Centre (Nelson Community Venues) 
  • Te Pae Whīra o Pā Harakeke Flaxmere Skatepark (Hastings District Council)

Outstanding Research Policy & Planning

  • Sandy Point Domain Master Plan (Invercargill City Council & Boffa Miskell) 
  • Te Whai Oranga Pōneke (Wellington City Council)

Outstanding Community Recreation Programme

  • Building Champions Obstacle Challenge (Community Leisure Management) 
  • ILT School Swimming Lessons (Invercargill City Council) 
  • On the Move Programme (Recreate NZ)
  • Unrelenting Pursuit to Enhance our Hauora (Kauri Flats School & CLM Community) 
  • Women's Nights (Ōtāhuhu Pool & Leisure Centre) 
  • Women's Wednesdays (Christchurch City Council)

Winners of the 2023 Fellowship Award, Paul Stuart Memorial Award, Ian Galloway Memorial Cup, Mark Mitchell Trophy, and Emerging Recreation Leader of the Year will also be announced at the Recreation Awards dinner ceremony!

MoST Content Management V3.0.8634