2022 Recreation Awards Nominees

The Recreation Awards recognise excellence, innovation, and effectiveness of outstanding activity within the recreation sector as well as the achievement and service of individuals whose commitment and contribution promotes the ongoing development and enhancement of the industry. 

The 2022 Recreation Awards Nominees

Outstanding Project

  • Hoops in Parks Flaxmere - Basketball NZ & Hastings District Council
  • Ōmokoroa Domain - Downer NZ & Western Bay of Plenty District Council
  • Drews Avenue Innovating Streets Project - Whanganui District Council
  • He Aratūtahi -  Duke of Edinburgh's International Award | Hillary Award Aotearoa
  • Pocket Maps - Herenga ā Nuku Aotearoa
  • Gostelow Park Pump Track - Invercargill City Council
  • Transforming Reserve Management Plans into Omnibus Local Parks Plans - Jacobs NZ
  • Tutaenui Reserve Restoration - Rangitikei District Council
  • Tracks Programme - Tūpuna Maunga Authority
  • Regeneration Kaiapoi - Waimakariri District Council
  • Pukehuia Park - Wellington City Council

Outstanding Event

  • Events Pivot - GirlGuiding NZ
  • Lights on Bikes & Drews Ave Street Party - Whanganui District Council
  • Think Hauora July Holiday Programme - Sport Manawatū
  • Dirty Dog Challenge - Waikato District Council & Hamilton City Council

Outstanding Pool

  • Te Pou Toetoe / Linwood Pool - Christchurch City Council
  • Rotorua Aquatic Centre - CLM
  • Selwyn Aquatic Centre - Selwyn District Council
  • Splash Palace - Invercargill City Council

Outstanding Park

  • Ambury Regional Park - Auckland Council
  • Pouwera Reserve - Te Waka Tairangawhenua (Co-Governance / Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei Reserve Board), Auckland Council
  • Miranda Reserve and Playspace - Jacobs NZ

Outstanding Community Recreation Programme

  • Adopt a Park - Auckland Council
  • Funky Fun Day - Bay Venues Ltd
  • ILT Learn to Swim - Invercargill City Council
  • Bush Sprouts - Nature School NZ Trust

Outstanding Research, Policy and Planning

  • The Duke of Edinburgh's International Award | Hillary Award
  • Te Hā Noa Victoria Street Linear Park - Jacobs NZ
  • Te Tai Tokerau Regional Planning for Play, Active Recreation and Sport - RSL, Sport Northland, and Regional Partners
  • Te Kopahou Tracks Network Plan - Wellington City Council
  • Milford Opportunities Project - WSP NZ & Xyst

Winners of the 2022 Paul Stuart Memorial Award, Ian Galloway Memorial Cup, Mark Mitchell Trophy, and Emerging Recreation Leader of the Year will be announced at the Recreation Awards dinner ceremony on 24 November at the Rutherford Hotel in Nelson.

MoST Content Management V3.0.8634