Recreation Awards

The Recreation Awards recognise excellence, innovation, and effectiveness of outstanding activity within the recreation sector as well as the achievement and service of individuals whose commitment and contribution promotes the ongoing development and enhancement of the industry.

These prestigious awards have been held annually since 1991, recognising individuals, organisations, programmes, and facilities that have made exceptional contributions to improving recreation and sport for New Zealanders.

Nominations for the 2019 awards have now closed. The winners will be announced at Recreation Conference 2019 in Hamilton on Thursday 28 November. Don't miss out, get your tickets now.


The 2018 Recreation Awards were presented on 25 October during the Awards Dinner at Recreation Conference, which was held at Pullman Hotel in Auckland from 24- 26 October.

A full list of 2018 award winners is available below.

  • Outstanding Project Winner - Kopurererua Valley, Tauranga City Council, Merit - Bikes in Schools Tairāwhiti, Tairāwhiti Connext Charitable Trust
  • Outstanding Park Winner - Anderson Park Playground, Napier City Council and Boffa Miskell, Merit - Mauao Historic Reserve, Tauranga City Council
  • Outstanding Facility Winner - YMCA North Shore Recreation Centre, YMCA of Auckland Inc.
  • Outstanding Event Winner - Anchor AIMS Games, Tauranga City Council in partnership with the AIMS Games Trust and Sport Bay of Plenty
  • Outstanding Community Recreation Programme Winner - Citycare/SVA 'Connect the Community', Citycare Group, Merit - Hutt City Kiwisport Fundamental Movement Skills, Hutt City Council
  • Outstanding Pool Winner - Huntly Aquatic Centre, Belgravia Leisure
  • Outstanding Research, Policy & Planning Winner - Low Carbon Parks: Developing a Carbon Inventory for Sports Parks, Auckland Council, Merit - Scott Point Sustainable Sports Park Masterplan, WSP Opus and Auckland Council, Merit - Maclean Park Refresh Community Engagement, Kāpiti Coast District Council and Lumin
  • Paul Stuart Memorial Award - Mark Blake, Belgravia Leisure
  • Ian Galloway Cup - Jane Aickin, Auckland Council
  • Emerging Recreation Leader - Mark Hammond, Kāpiti Coast District Council
  • Fellowship Recipients - Mark Bowater, Auckland Council and Joe Griffin, CLM

Download a full list of previous year's winners

MoST Content Management V3.0.7214